Tomb Raider Anniversary Time Trials - Tips & Strategy

In order to unlock the cheat codes for Tomb Raider: Anniversary, you must beat each completed level again in Time Trial mode. (Yes, I know that's completely backwards and stupid, but it's the way the game was designed.)

How to Play a Time Trial: From the Main Menu select Play Game, then Replay Level. Scroll down the list of level names to select the one you want to play. (Note that the lower half of the screen shows your stats for each level, including whether or not you've already completed the time trial and your best time so far.) Once you've chosen the level you want, press Enter (or Select). Under difficulty level, choose Time Trial. You can also choose a new outfit for Lara from among the ones you've unlocked. (See the Anniversary Rewards page for more info on the outfits.) Finally, click Start Game to play.

The goal in Time Trial is to complete the level before the timer at the bottom of the screen runs out. You don't have to obtain artifacts or relics. You don't even have to get every kill or item. Just get from start to finish as fast as you can.

Can You Save During a Time Trial? No, you cannot save as you go along, although the game still saves automatically at each checkpoint and will reload at the last checkpoint if Lara dies.


Here are some time trial tips sent in by helpful raiders. Your suggestions are welcome.


There are a number of glitches in the game that will enable you to skip entire sections of levels, thus completing the time trials much more quickly. The list of such exploits is extensive, and new discoveries are constantly being added. So I encourage you to search them out on YouTube and the speedrunning site

If you prefer not to cheat and want to beat the time trials fair and square, read on....


My good friend Eldin has generously shared his time trial tips for each level in the game. I hope you'll find these mini-walkthroughs as helpful as I have.


Level 1: Mountain Caves
Level 2: City of Vilcabamba
Level 3: The Lost Valley
Level 4: Tomb of Qualopec


Level 5: St. Francis Folly
Level 6: The Coliseum
Level 7: Midas's Palace
Level 8: Tomb of Tihocan


Level 9: Temple of Khamoon
Level 10: Obelisk of Khamoon
Level 11: Sanctuary of the Scion

Lost Island

Level 12: Natla's Mines
Level 13: The Great Pyramid
Level 14: The Final Conflict

Croft Manor

[Main Anniversary Page]